Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Generator Test With Stored Gasoline

Took some time off from the “Honey -Do” list today to fire up the Honda eu2000i generator using some gasoline I had stored some 18 months ago. This is a prudent thing to to for a number of reasons. First, it’s hurricane season here in Florida and my neighborhood has those old-fashioned wooden power poles that are Always affected high winds, so the likelihood of my power going out even in winds short of hurricane strength is better than even. Second, having a working generator and bad gas is like having no generator at all. It’s like having a shotgun, but no shells. For the record, the 5 Gallon can of gas I filled and added a fuel stabilizer to, started the Honda on the fifth pull and ran like a champ.
If you’ve got a generator and stored gasoline, why not take a moment to crank it up this weekend? You’ll be glad you did.

Be safe. Be prepared.

2013 Practical Prepper
Miami, FL

20130622-164441.jpg

June 22, 2013 Posted by | Food, Water, etc, General | , | 2 Comments

   

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

Thoughtfully Prepping

“We can starve anywhere, but I would prefer us to do so where it is warm”.

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.