Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Some Post-Presidential Debate #1 Ramblings

There’s a paradoxical, almost irreconcilable ambivalence that occurs when one of a Libertarian bent, such as this writer, speaks of whom he would like to see as President of the United States.  The problem occurs with the conflicting notions of wanting to elect a true Libertarian, cut of the Founder’s cloth, to the Presidency so he can strip it of the overreaching power it has usurped over the years since the ratification of the Constitution.  Hmmm.  Elect a man to the presidency so he can dismantle its imperial power.  See what I mean?

I’m not sure this will happen in my lifetime.  And by ‘I’m not sure’, I really mean ‘I’m certain it will NOT’.  So, watching the debate tonight, the realist in me (after all, preppers are nothing if not realists, right?) has decided that I must vote the current president out of office.  Unfortunately, that requires me to vote FOR Mitt Romney, as votes of ‘no confidence’ are the exclusive domains of nations with Parliaments.  This prospect does not thrill me, but what thrills me even less is the damage another 4 years of a BHO regime would do to our individual liberties and freedoms.

I am under no illusions that Romney is a latter-day Thomas Jefferson.  He is decidedly NOT.  He is, however a man, I believe, that understands the notion of Liberty much, much more intimately than the current resident of the White House, and will slow down, at the very least, the exponential growth of the police/surveillance state here in America..  For now, it’s the best I could hope for.

I’m not here to talk you into following my logic, necessarily.  I just implore you to consider the stakes as you mull over whether to ‘sit this one out’, because YOUR candidate did not survive the corrupt primary process.  Wow, are those stakes high.
Pray on it.

 

Be Safe.  Be Prepared.

 

PP October 2012

October 3, 2012 - Posted by | General, My Opinion

6 Comments »

  1. Well put. Couldn’t agree more. This election isn’t about who you WANT to be president, it’s about who you DON’T want to be president.

    Comment by MC | October 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. Obama is a man for the unions, Unions are what made this country great What we all need are jobs . To buy the things we need Yes I might lose some liberty’s along the way. That’s another battle to fight. We all need to pick our battles to win the war.. Remember this B;A.T.F. It is not the government agency Its is Bury All Thy Firearms.

    Comment by Maximus | October 16, 2012 | Reply

    • Unions were, at one time, a necessary thing, but they have become big businesses that now only exist to perpetuate themselves and enrich the leadership. Just my opinion.

      Comment by practicalprepper | January 13, 2013 | Reply

  3. Based on the dates here, I’d say when Obama got re-elected you grabbed your bug out bag and headed for the hills.

    Best of luck. Maybe I’ll look in again in a few weeks to see if this blog is no longer moribund.

    Comment by rufus3698 | December 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Not quite bugged out, but definitely getting my ducks in a row. I’ve got lots of posts coming. Stick around.

      Comment by practicalprepper | January 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

