Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Buy-One-Get-One Prepping

Yup. This is how my prepping began; BOGO at Publix supermarket. It started modestly with a few cans of BOGO green beans or instant oatmeal or bags of rice, then grew in time to its present state. If you have little or no spare income in these very trying times, then BOGO is the best way for you to start to squirrel away some food for the proverbial ‘rainy day’.

20120312-123903.jpg

March 12, 2012 - Posted by | Food, Water, etc

23 Comments »

  1. Good advice. I’m not a prepper per se, but watching Doomsday Preppers on Nat Geo reminded me that I need to be better prepared for bad storms here in TX so I’ve been researching Prepper blogs, including your own, looking for good advice. I’m going to start out putting together a 3 – 4 day storm box of ready-to-eat canned goods and other minimal prep foods and snacks, water, candles, matches, batteries, first aid, extra full propane tank, some cash and etc.

    One of the pieces of advice I have taken is like your post, BOGO and “buying one extra” to put in my stash. It’s obvious but one I didn’t think of before when I was wondering how I would swing buying a lot of this at once 🙂

    Keep up the good work.

    Comment by Bobby | March 13, 2012 | Reply

  2. Publix…we live in the same state and I’ve begun in exactly the same way. Glad I found your blog. Your views are much like mine.

    Comment by John | March 26, 2012 | Reply

  3. I work at Publix while my wife stays home with our son so when she has a little free time on her hands she clips coupons. You would not believe how much of the stuff I have stored we got for free or pretty near it anyway. I currently have about 100 cans of vegetables that I paid somewhere around 20 cents each for. Almost all of my preps are BOGO buys, now if I can find some coupons for more arms and ammo that’d be impressive.

    Comment by Chris B | April 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Hehe. If you do, you WILL remember your old pal, practicalprepper, won’t ya? : )

      Comment by practicalprepper | April 16, 2012 | Reply

    • HA HA HA! That’s funny.. I can see me (a couponer) going into Buck’s Ammo (madeup name) and stacking coupons for bullets..

      Comment by Rhonda | April 17, 2012 | Reply

  4. There are other great BOGO sales at Walgreens and CVS. These stores may help if the grocery store in your are doesn’t do BOGO deals.

    Comment by Jeremie Fisher | April 13, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, very true. Especially for things like medical supplies, first aid stuff, soaps, hygiene items, etc. In my area those two chains often compete with BOGOs, to our great pleasure.

      Comment by practicalprepper | April 16, 2012 | Reply

  5. I’ve always struggled with understanding how to use coupons, or maybe I don’t have the patience to do it… one of the two…

    With all the new people starting prepping as of late, it is interesting to see how others got their start prepping.

    –Nate

    Comment by Nathaniel Merrill | April 14, 2012 | Reply

    • There are as many ways as there are preppers, but getting started is the most important thing. I mostly eschew coupons, except for the rare one I use at BJs or Costco.
      I started with BOGO, like many, many others. Glad you started. Keep it up. It gets easier.

      Comment by practicalprepper | April 16, 2012 | Reply

      • Thanks!

        Ironically, the only time I have really used coupons in the past is when I go to Costco. (And that isn’t very often)

        Comment by Nathaniel Merrill | April 20, 2012

      • Yeah, it makes the good prices there even better. I use the ones for paper towels and toilet paper a lot! God copious amounts of both stashed away.

        Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012

    • One of the best ways to understand coupons/couponing is to join and site like Coupon Divas. They do all the work for you like coordinating stores’ ads w/ sunday fliers and online coupons. You don’t have to do anything, really, but click on a store you shop at, they tell you what is on sale and how you can get it cheaper with an available coupon. I learned from them that a lot of stores (Like Target) will take TWO coupons on one item (store + manufacture). I saved 23.65 yesterday, or over 15% of my bill, even though I had some large ticket items that had to get this week! HOOO rah!! LOL

      Comment by Rhonda | April 17, 2012 | Reply

      • HooRah! is right, I will have to check out that coupon diva site.

        I have watched some of the prepping on a budget preppers on YouTube, and it always amazes me to see how much stuff they can get from a store like WallGreens

        Comment by Nathaniel Merrill | April 20, 2012

      • So true. And Walgreens is now going to have a sort of Loyalty Card which will make the bargains even better! Woot!

        Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012

  6. There are many many sites that do all the couponing for you. They give you which coupons to use, which paper they are in and even how much they would be after coupon and sale.
    Some of them are
    1. I heart Publix
    2.i heart Kroger
    3. Southern Savers
    (There is an I heart CVS, WALGREENS, etc)
    Check them out it saves us literally hundreds of dollars a month. Good luck everyone and if anyone has any questions email me I’ll try to help where I can.
    Minem60(at)yahoo.com
    Practicalprepper,
    . trust me if I find em everyone will know.
    🙂

    Comment by Chris B | April 17, 2012 | Reply

    • I LOVE Kroger!! I worked there before I married and moved further south. I STILL stomp my little foot sometimes and say “I MISS KROGER!” (right in the store.. hee hee). I generally end up singing “I hate Walmart in the springtime… I hate Walmart in the fall…” I can’t depend on them to have what I want, when I want it…

      Comment by Rhonda | April 17, 2012 | Reply

  7. Hi, I did a two part post that you might be interested in that deals with the same thing. Here are the links for you.
    http://planningandforesight.blogspot.com/2012/01/grocery-store-strategy-one.html
    http://planningandforesight.blogspot.com/2012/01/grocery-store-strategy-two.html

    Comment by K | May 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Very good work and nice blog. I didn’t make your blog list though. : (

      Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012 | Reply

  8. This is a great idea, especially when you use coupons towards these items.

    Comment by Hv | June 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Glad it helped you. I bought a few BOGOs yesterday on a trip to Publix – can’t pass up a prepping bargain.

      Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012 | Reply

  9. In FL. Got the Publix app on the iPhone. We are constantly stocking up on the canned goods through BOGO. A few weeks back bought every can of Progresso soup in the store. They will store for years and are meal for two with a little rice. Great post.

    Comment by GA | July 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Great idea. I was unaware of a Publix App. Thanks for the awesome advice. Good job on the Progresso haul!!

      Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

