Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

New Use For My Vacuum Sealer

20120204-204804.jpg

Went to BJs Warehouse today to replace a few expired preps and decided to buy some more powdered garlic and dried, chopped onions – just the stuff to perk up some potentially bland rice and beans dinner. As I had plenty of both, I decided to vacuum seal these packages in an effort to extend their shelf.
Anyone using their vacuum sealer in novel, creative ways? Share it in the comments.

February 4, 2012 - Posted by | Food, Water, etc | ,

10 Comments »

  1. I took some wilderness search and resuce classes last year for work and they require you to build a 24 or 72 hour survival kit. In it they want a specified number of tylenol, ibuprofen benadryl, etc so I used it to seal two pills together in a section and then two more beside it etc in essence I made a light weight space saving pill box with it. It wasn’t easy but it will work.

    Comment by Chad | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Excellent use and good thinking. Keeping meds fresh is a use I must admit, I never heard of, but it’s great. thanks for the quick feedback.
      PracticalPrepper

      Comment by practicalprepper | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. I think it would have been better to put in a mason jar and use an adapter for your vacuum sealer.

    Comment by Stephen | March 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah, Stephen, perhaps you’re right, but I had the sealer out for a 30-pack of hot dogs I was sealing in bunches of 6, so I just went for it. I’ll try your way with the next batch real soon. Thanks for the tip.

      PP 2012

      Comment by practicalprepper | March 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. How long will thi garlic and onions last vacuum-sealed like this? And do you mind telling me the make and model of your vacuum-sealer?

    Comment by Get Survival | March 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Its a FoodSaver V2830. I’ve had it for years and it’s worked flawlessly.

      Truth is, I don’t know exactly by how long I might be extending the life of the bottled garlic powder and onion bits, but it’s oxygen and moisture that are the the culprit in their premature spoilage. If vacuum sealing them even merely doubles their shelf life ( I suspect it will do much more than that…), then I believe I’m ahead of the game. I plan on doing more of the same with other spices in the near future.

      Thanks for the comment.
      PP 2012

      Comment by practicalprepper | March 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. I vacuum-sealed my guy’s extra clothes for a hunting trip. He’d only take one set, so I wanted to make SURE it was clean and dry when he wanted it. Had to roll the Jeans up TIGHTLY to get them to fit. It was a winter trip so it took two bags, but it worked well. He loved it because it saved room in his pack.

    I have a #10 can of deh. onions I picked up at WalMart that came packed for food storage (with oxy aborber). When I open it, THEN I’ll break it down into vac sealed packs….assuming we have electricity at that point. If we don’t, I expect I’ll have other things to worry about than how fresh my onions are.

    Comment by ak-ren | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Haha. Right you are! Hey, breaking down a #10 can into individual vacuum sealed packs is a wonderful idea. Thanks for sharing.

      Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012 | Reply

  5. Awesome ideas but for those who prefer prepackaged long term food storage check out. http://lazyprepper.com preparedness seeds and food storage buckets.

    Comment by Brayton Stafford | June 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Cool. To each his/her own. I also have some freeze-dried, prepackaged food so I know where you’re coming from. Believe it or not, I plan on using cases of it as gifts to my children who are just starting families of their own. Can’t think of a better gift.

      Comment by practicalprepper | July 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

