Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

A Not-So-Gentle Reminder from Japan

As a school teacher on spring break, I had prepared a list of ‘Prepping-Related’ tasks to get done this week. The items on the list took on a good measure more urgency as the news stories of the horrific tragedy that is gripping the people of Japan continue to shock and appall us.
Before I continue, allow me to ask my readers to keep those poor, unfortunate people in your prayers.
But if their misfortune can serve as a lesson to us, it should be this: Disasters, natural or otherwise, CAN happen to you and your loved ones and it is your duty/obligation to be as prepared as you can be for a wide variety of contingencies. Towards that end, I spent a few hours emptying and refilling one of my 55 gallon drinking water barrels.

8 drops of unscented bleach per gallon (440 drops total) after I emptied, then refilled the barrel, and it should be goo for another 12-18 months.  In an emergency, drinking water is like gold.  A lack of electricity or damage by a hurricane’s winds can, and has in the past here in Miami, caused a interruption in running water – leading to lining up at a government truck for a handout gallon or two.  A supply of drinking water and a good water filter are disaster essentials.

Be Safe.  Be Prepared.

March 14, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

   

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.