Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Taurus PT709 Slim Update: Light Strike (FTF) Problem

After over 400 rounds of trouble-free shooting, my Taurus PT709 Slim has developed a FTF (failure to fire) problem.  It started last week when one round out of a box of 50 failed to fire – even after the 2nd strike (remember, Taurus models have the ability to strike the primer again without a cycling of the slide).  I ejected the problematic round and saw that the primer had indeed been struck, but the round failed to fire.  A similar thing happened at the range this morning with three more rounds.  A Work Order has been prepared and the Slim is being sent to Taurus for repair.

This is disappointing news, but I will reserve judgment until the techs at Taurus have a chance to repair the problem.  Naturally, I will keep you posted on the Slim and have another range report when I get it back from Taurus.

And, before you ask, I DID give it a thorough cleaning after every trip to the range.

Be safe.  Be Prepared.

May 16, 2010 - Posted by | Firearms | ,

3 Comments »

  1. I have just bought a new taurus slim took it home an right out of the box the second shot was a miss fire , It will only shot 2 rounds then miss fires . It has missed 10rds out of 32rds , not very good for a NEW gun

    Comment by Don Heightman | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. I had a similar problem then changed ammo to monarch no more problems. An instructor also told me that I had limp wrist sydrome. a stronger grip resolved allof my problems. http://www.northcarolinasportsman.com/details.php?id=485

    Comment by dell | October 7, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah, you’ve gotta keep the wrist firm to manage recoil and avoid the dreaded ‘limp wrist’.

      Comment by practicalprepper | January 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

Thoughtfully Prepping

“We can starve anywhere, but I would prefer us to do so where it is warm”.

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

