Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

You Say ‘Tomatoes’, I Say ‘Holy Crap’!! – UPDATE 4/11/10

It dawned on me as I was snapping the photos you see to the left and right of this text: Holy Crap, I got a bumper crop of tomatoes coming in in a few weeks and I haven’t planned for it at all.


Just Purchased Ball Mason Jars. I'm committed now!

UPDATE:  4/11/10 I just purchased 2 cases of Ball Mason Jars for canning the tomatoes.  Pic Above.

I mean, I meant to. When I planted the seeds some months ago (don’t hate me just because I can plant tomato seeds in January here in So. Fla. ), I had fully intended to purchase all the canning supplies and how-to books, and spend a few months reading about the fine art of canning tomatoes.  Ok, so I got sidetracked, so what?  One of the distractions was starting this blog, then there were the firearms I recently purchased – a Kel-Tec SU-16 CA carbine and a Taurus PT 709 Slim, then I started painting the house, and well, you know; I kinda lost focus.  The photos kind of re-focused me.

In the few weeks remaining ’till they ripen, I’ll be cramming on canning techniques and acquiring the needed supplies.  You see, I have lots of skills, but cnning isn’t one of them.  In fact, I’m a total noob at it.  But if you are too, and would like to learn from my inevitable mistakes, then this blog will be the place to be for the next few weeks.

Look for the next post in this series:  Canning Tomatoes: Part 1, in two weeks.  In the meantime:

Be safe.  Be Prepared

April 8, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Water, etc | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

