Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Range Report Update: Taurus PT709 Slim

Taurus PT709 Slim handiwork on unknown orange assailant!

Well, finally got a chance to return to the range today with my little black beauty – the Taurus PT709 Slim.  If you recall, in the first review I said that I would only trust my life with this gun after I ran at least 400 trouble-free rounds through it.  After a thorough cleaning and lube after last week’s workout, I’m happy to report that it passed the 400 rnd mark with about 40 to spare without a single stovepipe, misfeed or FTE.  It shoots where it’s aimed with 100% reliability so it’s earned a place on my hip (about 4:00, to be precise) in a brand new CrossBreed IWB holster.

The photo at the top of this post pretty much tells the story.  Most of those head shots were done as ‘double taps’ from a simulated draw towards the end of the shoot.  The long free-play in the trigger pull before you feel the tension of the spring is taking some getting used to – especially after shooting 1911 for so many years, but the short distance required to recycle the trigger more than makes up for that quirk with an easy second shot.  Before some wise-guy comments on the ‘flyers’ (off target hits ), be advised that I ‘dumped’ several full magazines as fast as I could fire as a kind of stress test for the PT709 – hence the misses.  Am I a great shot with a pistol?  No, not really, my strength is carbine shooting (more on that later in the week! ) .   But the little Taurus is an easy gun to shoot and makes this slightly better than average pistol shooter look pretty good.

Hope you found this review helpful.

Be Safe.  Be Prepared.

March 28, 2010 - Posted by | Firearms | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. looks good mine is now shooting about the same,the first time out I had no trouble with 50 rounds, but then I tried some WWB and they were *hit FTE,ONE THING THAT PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THESE 709’S is DO NOT OVER OIL, I susspect that is were most of the FTE problems are comming from. after a GOOD CLEANING !!!, just wipe the slid and rails with a thin coat of quality gun oil and put a dab on the hammer face, I have been using rem oil with good results, shoot around 200 rounds of mixed ammo each trip out with no problems. but have 8hit canned the WWB ammo

    Comment by Gene Smith | November 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Hmmmmm….. Thanks for the feedback and info. I’ll try a minimum amount of lube and see if it remains trouble-free. Thanks. PP

      Comment by practicalprepper | November 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

Thoughtfully Prepping

“We can starve anywhere, but I would prefer us to do so where it is warm”.

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

