Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Goodies From the Garden

My Modest Raised Bed Vegetable Garden

There are many advantages to living in Florida during the winter.  Among them is the ability to plant vegetables in December and harvest them in March – while YOUR soil is probably still rock hard.  Don’t hate me; wait ’till spring thaw rolls around and start a vegetable garden of your own.  It’s easier than you think.  As you can see by the picture of my ‘raised beds’, I don’t have an elaborate or extensive  setup at all, but I’ve been picking carrots, spinach, lettuce and tomatoes every day from my garden for  a couple of weeks now.  Nothing is better than eating the fruits (and vegetables) of your own labor. The lettuce, spinach, and tomatoes in the salad pictured below were harvested this afternoon from those beds.

Gardening is an important skill to learn and a fun activity for the entire family.  In a future post, I’ll share my ideas on how to start a modest vegetable garden to supplement your stored foods and provide nutritious, fresh veggies for your family if you can’t get them at the grocery store.

Be safe.  Be Prepared.

March 14, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Water, etc | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Nice looking salad. I am actually looking for someone who raises mushrooms so I can get some starter stock. I have a dark wet place under my deck I think I can turn into a mushroom factory, but I have yet to find a way to get started…maybe I can try getting a fresh store bought mushroom to take root..dunno, cutting off the top and putting it in soil worked for the pineapples I grew in college! 🙂

    Comment by Ohio Sean | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Interesting idea, Ohio Sean. I never thought of cultivating mushrooms. Gonna have to look into that.

      Comment by practicalprepper | March 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

