Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Practice, Practice, Practice….

Preppers require a myriad of skills in addition to stored supplies and equipment.  One of those skills should be weapons handling (shooting, field stripping, cleaning, etc).  I’ll have a lot more to say about firearms in later posts, but for now, check out a video of how I maintain my shooting skills (such as they are – hey I’m no Sgt. York, but I try…).  This vid was shot by a buddy of mine as I tackled Stage I of a 4-stage South Florida Defensive Carbine Club match last month.  If you are at all interested in honing your Zombie dispatching skills, I highly recommend joining a sanctioned shooting association like the IDPA (International Defensive Pistol Association. . .there are others) and researching where matches are held in your area.  You’ll have a great time meeting new people of ALL levels of shooting skills from beginner to marksman.  More importantly, you will have a chance to practice your shooting skills against a clock, learn the use of cover, and practice shooting while moving.  Try ‘shooting while moving’ at your local range and see what happens.

So, join a shooting club.  You’ll get much needed practice and a chance to sharpen your skills, meet like-minded folks, and learn real-world shooting skills you just can’t learn standing behind a barrier at your local indoor range.

March 3, 2010 - Posted by | Firearms | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Don’t you always hate it when you’re trying to “stay focused” your range buddies start discussing ammo, women, the weather, beer, etc. Pretty good shooting on your part and maybe with the ear muffs you didn’t hear your buddies yapping.

    Comment by Ohio Sean | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • No, I was pretty focused and didn’t hear that conversation until I played the video back later that night. Man, speaking of trying to say focused – when I was shooting the PT709 at an indoor range last weekend, the guy in the lane next to me pulls out a 12 gauge and let ‘er rip. Scared the crap out of me. ever hear a 12 gauge indoors???

      Comment by practicalprepper | March 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

