Practical Prepping Blog

Preparations for a very uncertain future. . .

Taurus PT709 Slim Update#2 – Back From Repair and Good to Go!

Before I conclude the Preps Dry Run AAR I started yesterday, let me squeeze in this bit of good news:  Just this afternoon I completed a thorough flogging of my Taurus PT709 Slim that I recently got back from being repaired at Taurus’ factory here in SoFla.  The flogging consisted of firing over 400 rounds of Magtech and Remington 115 gr. 9mm FMJ and JHP over two days – many of the rounds were fired during 7+1 mag-dumps as fast as I could pull the trigger.  My report:  The Slim got hella dirty and hella HOT, but fired all 400+ rounds without a single hiccup at all.  Not one.  The last 50 rounds were Magtech Gold 124 gr. JHP, my carry ammo, and it ate them flawlessly.

This is very good news.  I liked that gun from the first moment I handled it at a gun show earlier this year and very much wanted it to be dependable enough to be my CCW.  However, in case you did not read my previous posts on this pistol, after the first, flawlessly fired 250 rounds, the Slim began to ‘light-strike’ intermittently necessitating either a second pull of the trigger (yes the PT709 Slim has second strike capability), or a rack of the slide to eject the unfired round.  Needless to say, this is completely unsatisfactory for a carry gun.  I sent it back to Taurus for repair and it came back after 7 weeks.  And now, it finally performs as I hoped it would originally.  To celebrate, I carried the Slim today in an Uncle Mike’s #16 I had from a previous gun.  Tucked into my waistband at 12:30, it was absolutely undetectable and extremely comfortable.  I intend to get a ‘better’ holster for it in the near future and carry it every day.

Don’t you just love happy endings?

Be safe.  Be prepared.

August 29, 2010 - Posted by | Firearms | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Don's Racing Blog

Follow me as I participate in 4 different types of auto racing in 2014

Thoughtfully Prepping

My Scribblings about Prepping and Survivalism

DumpDC

It's Secession Or Slavery. Choose One. There Is No Third Choice.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

